MINUTES DISTRICT 1 BOARD OF CONTROL Mar. 17, 2009

President Cheryl Klein called the meeting to order at 11:07 A.M. at Post Falls High School.

MEMBERS PRESENT, Tom Durbin, Doug Olin, Mary Ann Rannels, Keri Jaworski, Royce Johnson, Cheryl Klein, , Kelly Reed, Lindsey Holland, Brett DePew

Commissioners: John Posnick, Frank Garcia, , Merrill Owens, Scott Lickfold (Dave Broughton)

MEMBERS ABSENT: Robin Stanley, John Brumley, Lisa Paull, Curt Randall-Bayer, Jim Kravik, Dave Palmer

GUESTS -

CONSENT AGENDA

The minutes from the meeting on Jan 13,2009 was approved and the Treasurer's report was accepted.

Motion by Tom Durbin, Seconded by Keri Jaworski, the vote was unanimous.

TREASURER'S REPORT:

\$6,282.91 as of 2-28-09

OLD BUSINESS/ACTION AGENDA

- 1. Discussion & clarification on 5A exemption from cost saving study was held. No action was taken.
- 2. A discussion was held concerning the letter received from Chuck Kinsey. Chuck had been the District 1 nominee for 2009. Chuck indicated he was not eligible as he did not meet the criteria. The criteria requires 25 years of service in Idaho and although Chuck has 35 years of service in Education, only 23 of those years were in Idaho. He stated that he took great pride in being nominated. After discussion President Cheryl Klein volunteered to look into a plaque for Chuck Kinsey for his many years of service to District 1
- 3. A discussion was held on the use of Ref-Pay through Arbiter and was tabled in order to give the committee more time to research results in other regions of the state.

- 4. A discussion and action was held on the amended negotiated contract with NIOA. A motion was made by Tom Durbin, second by Keri Jaworski to accept the contract as amended. Vote was unanimous.
- 5. A discussion on a joint meeting with Region 2 was held. The Secretary was directed to work with the Region 2 Secretary to see if a common date could be found for a meeting.
- 6. A discussion was held concerning the health of former long time Board member, Terry Gorton. Updates on his status were requested from school personnel.
- 7. A discussion was held concerning the District 1 nominee for Music Educator of the year was held. Tim Sandford of Lake City High School was nominated. A motion was made by Tom Durbin, second by Royce Johnson to approve the nomination of Mr. Sandford as District 1 representative for the award. The vote was unanimous.

SECTIONAL REPORTS

SUPERINTENENTS - none

PRINCIPALS - None

- JR.HIGHS/MIDDLE SCHOOLS None
- GIRL'S ATHLETICS -. None
- **BOY'S ATHLETICS** District 1 Coaches Association still looking for members. Some discussion was held about school paying blanket coverage for all coaches. District 2 now has a representative to the state association.

SPEECH ARTS – None

- **SPIRIT ADVISORS -** District 1 clinic was held February 14, State to be next week.
- **MUSIC ARTS -** Solo and ensemble was held last week end. Next week will be large group festival at NIC. Bud Shambert will be inducted into the Hall of Fame for Music Educators.
- ATH. DIR. REP Some discussion has been held related to 4A and 5A school using 3 man mechanics in basketball during the season. It was not used in the District tournaments.

COMMISSIONERS REPORTS

FOOTBALL - 3 new transfer officials have contacted the commissioner. Rick Rasmussen and Jim White will be inducted into the NIOA Hall of Fame at the April 18th banquet.

VOLLEYBALL – None

WRESTLING - Ryan Wood and Merrill Owens worked the state tournament this year.

BASKETBALL – 90 games this year were 3 man teams. The cost for these games was \$21 more per game than with 2 man teams.

SOFTBALL – Held several clinics. Had a clinic with officials from Districts 1 & 2. 20 active officials, 5 are new.

BASEBALL- Rules clinic in February, 23 officials, some are new. Arbiter is being used, no fines or ejections as of this date. Some concerns on scheduling during spring break and also time of games. Hard to get officials in early afternoon.

SOCCER – None

NOTE: Orofino is joining the 3A's for District. They do not travel this year.

A motion was made by Tom Durbin, second by Mary Ann Rannels, to adjourn at 12:30 PM. Vote was unanimous.

Respectfully submitted, Joe James, Secretary